Louis C.K Releases His Latest Work Via Direct Download And DRM Free


Picture of Louis CK

Clicking the image will take you straight to his site

Louis CK has released his latest tour video via direct download from his site for $5.00 (£3.20), making it available for anyone to download and watch it. There are two different methods to watch it available and those are download it directly to your computer so you can watch it whenever you like or to stream it directly.

This really is a great thing that he is doing as it opens up a great way to distribute his work to his fan-base no matter where they are in the world as well a cutting out the middle man; in other words it is not geo-restricted in any way and cheaper than it would be if it were distributed in the outdated way that most things are. Also, there is no DRM on the file which is another great addition.

This shows real innovation on behalf of Louis as he is using a business model that people know works and have been waiting for the major corporation to use for a long time, but still refuse to adapt. I really hope that this works out for him.

I downloaded this last night and it was very quick. The quality is great and was well worth the price. I really hope that people pay for this download and not torrent it as he has used his own money to make this available in this way, but I guess we will have to wait and see.

Here is what he says on his site

To those who might wish to “torrent” this video:
Look, I don’t really get the whole “torrent” thing. I don’t know enough about it to judge either way. But I’d just like you to consider this: I made this video extremely easy to use against well-informed advice. I was told that it would be easier to torrent the way I made it, but I chose to do it this way anyway, because I want it to be easy for people to watch and enjoy this video in any way they want without “corporate” restrictions.
Please bear in mind that I am not a company or a corporation. I’m just some guy. I paid for the production and posting of this video with my own money. I would like to be able to post more material to the fans in this way, which makes it cheaper for the buyer and more pleasant for me. So, please help me keep this being a good idea. I can’t stop you from torrenting; all I can do is politely ask you to pay your five little dollars, enjoy the video, and let other people find it in the same way.
Sincerely,
Louis C.K.

And for any detail geeks out there, here’s the information for the file outputted via MediaInfo:

General
Complete name : C:\Users\Dickie\Desktop\Louis_CK_Beacon_1280x720.mp4
Format : MPEG-4
Format profile : Base Media / Version 2
Codec ID : mp42
File size : 1.12 GiB
Duration : 1h 2mn
Overall bit rate : 2 550 Kbps
Encoded date : UTC 2011-12-09 16:04:07
Tagged date : UTC 2011-12-09 16:04:24

Video
ID : 1
Format : AVC
Format/Info : Advanced Video Codec
Format profile : Baseline@L3.1
Format settings, CABAC : No
Format settings, ReFrames : 2 frames
Codec ID : avc1
Codec ID/Info : Advanced Video Coding
Duration : 1h 2mn
Bit rate : 2 355 Kbps
Width : 1 280 pixels
Height : 720 pixels
Display aspect ratio : 16:9
Frame rate mode : Constant
Frame rate : 23.976 fps
Color space : YUV
Chroma subsampling : 4:2:0
Bit depth : 8 bits
Scan type : Progressive
Bits/(Pixel*Frame) : 0.107
Stream size : 1.03 GiB (92%)
Language : English
Encoded date : UTC 2011-12-09 16:04:05
Tagged date : UTC 2011-12-09 16:04:24
Color primaries : BT.709-5, BT.1361, IEC 61966-2-4, SMPTE RP177
Transfer characteristics : BT.709-5, BT.1361
Matrix coefficients : BT.709-5, BT.1361, IEC 61966-2-4 709, SMPTE RP177

Audio
ID : 2
Format : AAC
Format/Info : Advanced Audio Codec
Format profile : LC
Codec ID : 40
Duration : 1h 2mn
Bit rate mode : Constant
Bit rate : 192 Kbps
Channel(s) : 2 channels
Channel positions : Front: L R
Sampling rate : 48.0 KHz
Compression mode : Lossy
Stream size : 86.1 MiB (8%)
Language : English
Encoded date : UTC 2011-12-09 16:04:05
Tagged date : UTC 2011-12-09 16:04:24

Leave a comment